#98156: "Paradox failed to happen"
What is this report about?
What happened? Please select from below
What happened? Please select from below
Please check if there is already a report on the same subject
If yes, please VOTE for this report. Reports with the most votes are given PRIORITY!
| # | Status | Votes | Game | Type | Title | Last update |
|---|
Detailed description
-
• Please copy/paste the error message you see on your screen, if applicable.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• Please explain what you wanted to do, what you did and what happened
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Please copy/paste the text displayed in English instead of your language. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• Is this text available in the translation system? If yes, has it been translated for more than 24 hours?
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Please explain your suggestion precisely and concisely so that it's as easy as possible to understand what you mean.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• What was displayed on the screen when you were blocked (Blank screen? Part of the game interface? Error message?)
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Which part of the rules was not followed by the BGA adaptation?
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• Is the rules violation visible on game replay? If yes, at which move number?
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• What was the game action you wanted to do?
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• What did you try to do to trigger this game action?
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
-
• What happened when you tried to do this (error message, game status bar message, ...)?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• At which step of the game did the problem occur? What was the current game instruction?
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• What happened when you tried to do this game action (error message, game status bar message, ...)?
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Please describe the display issue. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Please copy/paste the text displayed in English instead of your language. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. -
• Is this text available in the translation system? If yes, has it been translated for more than 24 hours?
Howingbaboon (blue) turn 4, 1st action
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
-
• Please explain your suggestion precisely and concisely so that it's as easy as possible to understand what you mean.
I upgraded a chapel to a monastery in Might. The upgraded building occupied the same space as part of another player's monastery (green) in Faith which was constructed in Faith (not rippled). Unless I am mistaken, what should have happened is that the other players Monastery in Faith should have been destroyed and removed due to a paradox.
What actually happened was that my Monastery failed to ripple into Faith (and Reason). The reason given was "Ripple effect cancelled for 'Monastery #15' during the Age of Faith (7,5): Violated Rule of Hierarchy" however, as you will see from the board, this isn't true. If the paradox had occurred as it should have, my rippled Monastery would not have violated either rule. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v116
Report history
It's a very repeatable bug.
I've seen paradoxes work in the game but maybe that was from building in might rather than upgrading. The issue only seems to occur with upgrading.
1 Building upgraded in Might
2. Does this building overlap another building in Faith?
YES?
3. If that building in Faith was removed and the upgraded building ripples forward in time, would it comply with the rules of hierarchy and dominion in Faith?
YES? - The paradox occurs and destroys the undermined building, the upgraded building ripples forward.
NO? - The paradox does not occur and the upgraded building does not ripple.
Hope that makes sense and some clever person can fix the code
It seems like 2 bugs rolled into one, the lack of the paradox and then the lack of the rippling where no rules were broken
imgur.com/a/wdQslKJ
Add to this report
- Another table ID / move ID
- Did F5 solve the problem?
- Did the problem appear several times? Every time? Randomly?
- If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
