#83999: "SCAVENGE occurs in reverse order from how its described"
What is this report about?
What happened? Please select from below
What happened? Please select from below
Please check if there is already a report on the same subject
If yes, please VOTE for this report. Reports with the most votes are given PRIORITY!
| # | Status | Votes | Game | Type | Title | Last update |
|---|
Detailed description
-
• Please copy/paste the error message you see on your screen, if applicable.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• Please explain what you wanted to do, what you did and what happened
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Please copy/paste the text displayed in English instead of your language. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• Is this text available in the translation system? If yes, has it been translated for more than 24 hours?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Please explain your suggestion precisely and concisely so that it's as easy as possible to understand what you mean.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• What was displayed on the screen when you were blocked (Blank screen? Part of the game interface? Error message?)
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Which part of the rules was not followed by the BGA adaptation?
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• Is the rules violation visible on game replay? If yes, at which move number?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• What was the game action you wanted to do?
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• What did you try to do to trigger this game action?
-
• What happened when you tried to do this (error message, game status bar message, ...)?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• At which step of the game did the problem occur? What was the current game instruction?
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• What happened when you tried to do this game action (error message, game status bar message, ...)?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Please describe the display issue. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Please copy/paste the text displayed in English instead of your language. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. -
• Is this text available in the translation system? If yes, has it been translated for more than 24 hours?
• Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
-
• Please explain your suggestion precisely and concisely so that it's as easy as possible to understand what you mean.
The Scavenge tile tells you that you may discard certain dice, then place or bury.
However the current implementation reverses that order. It has you place or bury and then discard.
This is a bit confusing, and it's easy to think as a player that you simply aren't getting to discard dice at all. Which is what happened to at least one player who recently posted on BGG thinking maybe they had simply understood the tile. I also was confused by this when I first encountered it.
In a worst case scenario, a player might bury the dice they can't place, thinking they have to do, and not realizing that the leftover dice will be discarded. • Which browser are you using?
Google Chrome v111
Report history
I had a 3 in my yard.
I played Scavenge and after some treats, eventually rolled a 2 2 2 4.
I wanted to discard two 2s, place one 2 on a dog, and bury the 4.
I could not figure out how to do that. I clicked on the dice but there was no Discard button.
I could place the 2, but then got stuck. So I ended up burying the remaining 2 2 4, hoping there would be a discard option after confirming. But it just ended up leaving the extra dice in my yard, and I busted.
Yes, that's exactly how it works.
The game will never just bury dice for you. That's always a choice you have to make.
The BGA community in general doesn’t vote on issues much, so just relying on that isn’t really getting to the scope of the issue at hand.
My remark on your earlier ticket applies to all tickets: feedback is welcomed, but argumentative replies will be ignored or deleted. The forums welcome debates, but please maintain a respectful discourse here.
A "discard remaing" button, or even renaming "Confirm" with that would go a looooong way to reducing confusion.
A better, but more code intensive option would be a "discard zone". But a simple rename to "Discard Remaining and End Turn"" would be a big help
Having the dice discard automatically after you click "Confirm" isn't very intuitive.
I tried the trick another time later and was confused again, and I couldn't figure out how in the world I was misunderstanding the card / what else the card could mean.
It wasn't until coming to this bugs page that I learned how it works.
Table #413031913
Move #76
The game gave no option other than to bury. I already had a 1 buried, then was forced to bury more so went bust.
Because it's working and isn't broken.
You filed a false bug report without bothering to check any of the dozen duplicates that have been filed.
> This is broken and needs fixing please!
> Almost 2 years of causing trouble and no fixing
Are you volunteering? Or just lambasting other volunteers for not doing it for you?
We maintain this game as volunteers. We're not BGA employees. Your entitled attitude does little to make me want to help you.
Add to this report
- Another table ID / move ID
- Did F5 solve the problem?
- Did the problem appear several times? Every time? Randomly?
- If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
