All reports
Lost Cities reports
#3694: "Score was completely incorrect"
infoneeded: More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug
What is this report about?
What happened? Please select from below
Display bug: some game information displayed was wrong (with no important consequences for the game)
Detailed description
• Please describe the display issue. If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.
I had 0 points at end of the game. Should have had much more• Which browser are you using?
Safari v8
Report history
Sep 29th 2015 3:27 •
impeira • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Oct 1st 2015 13:07 • I had a similar problem too.
The end score in my game ( de.boardgamearena.com/#!table?table=16502868 ) should be 38:32 but it is 38:52. imgur.com/J6e2b5a
The end score in my game ( de.boardgamearena.com/#!table?table=16502868 ) should be 38:32 but it is 38:52. imgur.com/J6e2b5a
Alizae • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Nov 15th 2015 21:33 • Player was also able to play 2 cards to start
end score was different than indicated.
imgur.com/Y6wKFJ7
end score was different than indicated.
imgur.com/Y6wKFJ7
Deuce Heart • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Jan 18th 2016 5:19 • I saw my opponent appear to place two contracts on the first play of the game (he had placed one). At the end of the game, the scores on the player displays said 41-3 me, but the window with the final score showed 43-41 him (which was correct).
Janabis • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Sep 16th 2016 23:11 • A plusieurs reprises, dont ma dernière partie (Les Cités Perdues #23991835), les cartes de mon adversaires sont doublées. On se retrouve parfois avec quatre contrats ou avec deux 2 bleus, etc ...
(Sans compter les erreurs comptables. Mon adversaire est annoncé à -3 points & fini par me battre alors que j'en ai 34.)
(Sans compter les erreurs comptables. Mon adversaire est annoncé à -3 points & fini par me battre alors que j'en ai 34.)
swoots • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Mar 26th 2020 23:56 • I don't understand why starting a new expedition costs 40 points while in the actual game rules (as stated in the physical version I have and in the rules on this site) state that an expedition should cost 20 points.
bmcfluff • Bug has not been reproduced by developers yet:
Mar 27th 2020 0:01 • @swoots As shown in the rules, an expedition with a single handshake card and nothing else is worth -40 because it's -20 for starting the expedition which is then doubled by the handshake. So if you start with a handshake, your score is temporarily -40, whereas if you start with a number card, your score is temporarily -20 plus that number. This is consistent with the rules, both as written and as shown in the scoring example. If you have a specific game and move# where you think something was scored incorrectly, please let me know; otherwise there's nothing I can do.
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 11th 2020 9:32 • This issue has 9 votes, but it seems to likely consist in large part of people misunderstanding the rules, and also the last comment that seems to be an actual bug is from 2016 so the bug might well have been fixed since then. Thus I am marking this as Info Needed and will take no further action unless someone provides more information suggesting there is a real, current bug - and please make sure you know how scoring with contract cards works first!
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 11th 2020 9:35 • And if your bug involves a card appearing to be incorrectly *duplicated*, please check this other bug thread instead and post your table and move numbers there if relevant: boardgamearena.com/bug?id=3741
DirkAxe • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Aug 27th 2020 8:50 • If you look at the screen shot of the end of the game and add up the points, I win. But according to the score keepers, I lost
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Aug 27th 2020 16:01 • @DirkAxe Did you post a screenshot? I don't see a link, and can't do much without one.
ZANGDARleGRAND • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 23rd 2021 23:53 • Bonjour, j'ai subi un bug de calcul de score.
Mon adversaire avait 14pts, a posé un 10 avec un seul contrat, et il a gagné 40pts au lieu de 20, le faisant gagner la partie.
photos.app.goo.gl/aAMRY4TosuZRUNxS7
Pouvez-vous le corriger ? Merci beaucoup
Mon adversaire avait 14pts, a posé un 10 avec un seul contrat, et il a gagné 40pts au lieu de 20, le faisant gagner la partie.
photos.app.goo.gl/aAMRY4TosuZRUNxS7
Pouvez-vous le corriger ? Merci beaucoup
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 24th 2021 1:15 • Hi ZANGDARleGRAND,
That is not a bug; the rules say you get a 20 point bonus when you play your 8th card of the same color. (An extra entry appeared in the game log to explain that this is what was happening, but it looks like you didn't notice that.)
That is not a bug; the rules say you get a 20 point bonus when you play your 8th card of the same color. (An extra entry appeared in the game log to explain that this is what was happening, but it looks like you didn't notice that.)
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 24th 2021 1:24 • READ ME BEFORE POSTING: This issue has 16 votes, but it seems to consist primarily of people misunderstanding the scoring rules, so go re-read those before posting here! In particular, make sure you know how to score 1) empty piles 2) piles with contract cards (with or without other cards), and 3) piles with 8+ cards (with or without contracts)
The last comment that looks like an actual bug is from 2016, so I'm not going to look into this further until someone has good evidence that a bug still exists.
The last comment that looks like an actual bug is from 2016, so I'm not going to look into this further until someone has good evidence that a bug still exists.
chaybe • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 5th 2023 5:59 • According to the physical game. Any time you start an expedition (playing anything on any one of the 5 colored areas) you lose 20 points. It's not doubled. It's a standard flat rate to go on the "expedition".
Your score can then either be doubled, tripled or quadrupled depending on how many handshakes you play before the numbered cards. As stated in the instructions, which might avoid confusion, points for use of each expedition should be subtracted after each round. (max 20 per column) Seperate from points gained.
The game is not accurate this way, playing multiple handshakes becomes pointless. A tad frustrating.
Your score can then either be doubled, tripled or quadrupled depending on how many handshakes you play before the numbered cards. As stated in the instructions, which might avoid confusion, points for use of each expedition should be subtracted after each round. (max 20 per column) Seperate from points gained.
The game is not accurate this way, playing multiple handshakes becomes pointless. A tad frustrating.
bmcfluff • More information is requested by developers to reproduce this bug:
Apr 8th 2023 2:26 • @chaybe: I am quite certain the scoring implementation here is correct: (-20)*2=(-40) appears as one of the examples on the back of the physical rulebook. Playing multiple handshakes using these (correct) rules is *not* pointless, since each handshake increases the potential loss but also the potential gain.
Add to this report
Please add here anything that seems relevant in order to reproduce this bug or understand your suggestion:
- Another table ID / move ID
- Did F5 solve the problem?
- Did the problem appear several times? Every time? Randomly?
- If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.